120 years ago, the first public screening of the Lumière cinematograph took place on the
Grands Boulevards, not far from the Opéra metro.
On June 25, 1956, the Le Brady cinema, with its unique screen, opened its doors not far
away, at 39 boulevard de Strasbourg in the 10th arondissement. At first glance, nothing
could distinguish this second-class cinema from others. Nevertheless, of the dozens of
rooms which surrounded it, remain only the Archipelago and the Luxor today.
The Brady will owe its survival to a set of circumstances due to chance, to the
determination of its operators and perhaps also to the proximity of this historical district
where cinema projection was born. It will also distinguish itself from the others thanks to
it’s programming dedicated to fantasy and horror cinema, the cinema bis before Quentin
Tarantino rehabilitates it (blaxploitation, giallo, kung-fu, western-spaghetti, undead,
plastic lizards, “érotico-cannibales” …) for more than thirty years, then thanks to the
purchase of the room by Jean-Pierre Mocky in 1994, it will have been used for nearly
Today, the cinema classified as Art and Essay is a “continuation room”, allowing films that
have run the normal course of events to remain available for viewing. It also offers an
opening to cinema for young audiences, cinematographies of Europe and the world (in
particular those of Turkey and India) as well as representations of minority sexuality on
screen with its cinema club “Le 7th genus “.
The Brady was renovated in 2009 to be transformed into a cinema-theater and hosts rooms
on weekends. It has two rooms of 100 and 39 chairs.